Everybody wants to be a chick…Tweet!

Last night, I had a dream that my a cappella group was performing in a very Glee setting. We were rehearsing and people started to file into the auditorium until it was jam packed. In our snazzy matching black dresses,we spontaneously busted out with some awesome Beyonce and TLC songs. We had so much fun and the crowd loved it. I stayed in bed a little bit longer just to hold onto that dream.

The King’s Chix (soon to be King’s Chicks, because Chix is just terrible) has been one of the best parts of my experience abroad. They’re a group of really great girls who just love to sing and perform; they welcomely took me and Oona into their group even though we’re just two Americans who came from nowhere. Trust me – if you meet people who love to sing, they are fun people. Wednesday rehearsals were pretty much just hang-out sessions with intervals of singing, nothing too serious. Gossip, food, YouTube videos – all the good stuff! As an added bonus, our set-list has such catchy songs (even mash-ups) like No Scrubs, Parachute, Lady Marmalade, and Someone Like you.

I love singing, but I’m not a singer. Yes, I can sing in tune. Yes, I can harmonize. Yes, I can read and play music. But I am in no way a talented singer that should go audition for American Idol. I auditioned to join the King’s Chix hoping to find a group that just likes to have fun, and my wish was granted! Everyone is so incredibly talented (Case in point: When I heard their rendition of Someone Like you, I teared up) but they also don’t take themselves too seriously. When they gave me a solo for Stand By Me (mashed up with Beautiful Girls!), I was kind of nervous but I knew that I was surrounded by great girls who enjoyed performing together and that was all that mattered. I can be pretty shy sometimes but, thankfully, my stage fright magically disappears when the spotlight is on me. I was so glad I was able to keep my cool during my solo at a lesbian wedding back in March while I was being recorded and watched! A wedding is a happy event to begin with, but when we sang Lucky after the ceremony as a little surprise for the guests, you could feel the mood elevate.

The best memory I have with the King’s Chix is our spontaneous perfomance in the middle of Pizza Express. Our waiter was hilarious and friendly so when we told him that we sang after our meal, he begged us for an impromptu performance. Of course, we had to sing Stand By Me and Lady Marmalade. I don’t know what happened but I forgot the lyrics to the chorus of Stand By Me, but it was still such an unforgettable night! That adrenaline rush and showing off what we’ve worked so hard to  rehearse…Unforgettable! I have one last Imperial gig with them in May. When it’s over, I won’t cry, No I won’t shed a tear! Okay, maybe a little.

Music and love,

S

Author: sarachoister

Documenting the journey of being a medical student

Leave a Reply

