la belle vie

I made a blog because photographs are so much to me; they capture what I won’t remember (and I don’t remember a lot of things). I find happiness in food and makeup, but my all-time guilty pleasure is buying journals. Whenever I walk inside a book or craft store, I’m always pulled towards those leather-bound books filled with crisp cream pages just waiting to be used and worn from adventurous travel. It’s almost a life goal/bucket-list item of mine to own a journal that is messily written in, colored, abused, decorated, cherished. Funny thing is, these journals I occasionally splurge on are usually never written in. Sometimes it’s because I can’t bear to ruin its perfectly blank white pages. Most of the time, it’s just because it’s tiring to actually write in them. My thoughts race so much faster than my pen! I seem to never have the time to sit down and slowly record my life on paper. So, I come to this lovely online blog where every entry is typed with the luxury of a backspace and speed of my 21st century typing skills. Best of all, my photos get to have their own accompanying stories. This is the story of my favorite trip in Europe so far…

Last week, I got back from Paris. Beautiful, dreamy, wonderful Paris. The city I long held as the capitol of romance and art. The city of lights, whites, and stripes. My time to visit it had finally come!

There no words to describe the physical beauty of the city itself. Devoid of the skyscrapers that characterize New York, Paris is built by cream-colored architecture and extravagant decor. I am not lying when I say that every single street is beautiful to walk along, almost as if there is a French law that states “Building, you must be beautiful!” I stayed in an apartment that I and a group of six other girls rented out for the week. It was near the St. Paul metro, which is apparently a neighborhood infamous for gays and falafel aka hipster. The nice thing about living in an apartment instead of a hostel was access to a kitchen and TV. I was able to eat my own breakfast of champions (aka baguettes spread with confiture de lait, muesli croquant, brie) while watching some  show I couldn’t understand. Looking out from our apartment, the view was so “French” I loved waking up to the sight of this:

That corner restaurant on the right side of the street serves the best falafel wrap I have ever put in my mouth. It was savory with a delicious white sauce and toasted to panini-perfection in a convenient wrap that comforted me on a rainy arrival day:

In the span of 5 days and 4 nights, I managed to cram almost all the tourist activities into my time in Paris – Musee d’Orsay, Tour Eiffel, Musee Louvre, Arc de Triomphe, Jardin du Luxembourg, Champs Elysees, Catacombs… I usually get bored by visiting “famous and historic” sties but I was more than happy to trot around the streets just taking the city in sight by sight.

One of the best parts was making new friends from Lausanne, Switzerland through Alexa and being reunited with Sophia and Claudia. I know some people say that traveling alone is just as worthwhile as any, but I think exploring a new city with old friends is so much more fun. Sophia’s family also rented out an apartment near us and her neighborhood was full of fancy bars and restaurants. She cooked us a delicious lamb dinner one night in her Parisian pent loft apartment and showed me what Parisian chain smoking looks like.

From all of my Paris wanderings, the most breathtaking moment was when I was standing in front of Arc de Triomphe on Champs Elysees watching Tour Eiffel sparkle. I know. I felt like I was in a dream. All that was missing was more time.

Overall, Paris is really a dream city I couldn’t get enough of. I’m sure I’ll be back again someday in the future. As this chapter in my travels has come to a close, I only have these photos and an empty box of delicious muesli cereal left from the trip, but the place sure as hell didn’t disappoint.

Here’s to a city of love from a girl with love,

S

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: sarachoister

Documenting the journey of being a medical student

Leave a Reply

